The best AI agents to reconcile QuickBooks Online for accounting firms (2026)
"AI reconciliation" means different things on different products: categorizing the bank feed, helping inside QuickBooks' reconcile screen, or checking the statement itself against the books. For a firm with many QuickBooks Online clients, here's what each tool actually does and what it costs per client, with prices checked on each vendor's site.
The short answer
If the job is checking each client's bank and card statements against QuickBooks Online and knowing which statements are still missing, across the whole client list, Nexora Recon is built for exactly that, works on every QuickBooks Online plan, and costs $19 per client company per month. If the job is categorizing the bank feed every day, look at Booke AI. If you want a whole close platform with a client portal, look at Double. If you want the bookkeeping done for you, that's a service like Botkeeper or Zeni, at a very different price.
The tools side by side
| Tool | What its AI reconciles | Lowest published price | QuickBooks Online plans |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nexora Recon | Every line of every uploaded statement (PDF, scanned PDF or CSV) checked against QuickBooks Online for all clients at once; missing statements listed per account and month | $19 per client company per month, 10-company minimum; 7-day trial | All: Simple Start, Essentials, Plus, Advanced |
| QuickBooks AI reconcile | Reads an uploaded or auto-imported statement and compares it with the books, one account at a time inside each client file | Included in Plus ($140/mo list) and Advanced ($340/mo list) | Plus, Advanced and Intuit Enterprise Suite only |
| Booke AI | Categorizes and matches bank-feed transactions; added as a user in QuickBooks Online | $129 per business per month (Business plan); firm plan priced on request | Not stated |
| Double (formerly Keeper) | Close platform; can compare an uploaded PDF statement with cleared transactions | $10 per connected client per month (Core); $25 Plus, $50 Scale | Not stated |
| Dext | Receipt and document capture, bank statement extraction; bank reconciliation isn't listed | $207.99 per month for 10 clients (Essentials, annual plan billed monthly) | Not stated |
| Botkeeper | Automated bookkeeping including bank reconciliation, per client license | $149 per license per month for 1–4 licenses; $59 at 25+ | Not stated |
| Zeni | Done-for-you bookkeeping service with AI bank reconciliation | From $549 per business per month | Requires QuickBooks Online Plus |
Prices and features were read on each vendor's own pricing page on October 26, 2026: Booke AI, Double, Dext, Botkeeper, Zeni, QuickBooks. Products and prices change; check their site before you decide. Written by the team that makes Nexora Recon.
Three kinds of "AI reconciliation"
1. Bank-feed AI. The tool looks at transactions as they come in through the bank feed and suggests payees and categories. That keeps the books tidy day to day, but the feed is not the statement: a feed that dropped a week, a duplicated import or a deleted entry still leaves the books different from the bank. Booke AI and QuickBooks' accounting agent work here.
2. Reconcile-screen AI. QuickBooks' own AI-powered reconciliation reads the statement and helps you finish the reconcile screen, one account at a time, and only on Plus and Advanced files. A firm's own plan doesn't pass down to the client files, so every Simple Start or Essentials client would need an upgrade (see the Plus upgrade cost guide).
3. Statement-to-books checking across clients. Every statement line is compared with what's in QuickBooks, for every account of every client, and the gaps come back as one list: lines missing from the books, entries with no bank line, and statements that never arrived. That's what Nexora Recon does. Each statement is checked first (opening balance plus lines equals ending balance), so a bad scan doesn't produce false gaps.
What it costs for 10, 40 and 100 clients
| 10 clients | 40 clients | 100 clients | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nexora Recon ($19 per company) | $190/mo | $760/mo | $1,900/mo |
| Upgrading Essentials clients to Plus for QuickBooks' AI reconcile (+$55 each, list) | +$550/mo | +$2,200/mo | +$5,500/mo |
| Booke AI Business plan ($129 per business) | $1,290/mo | $5,160/mo | $12,900/mo |
Booke AI's firm plan is priced on request and may be lower than its Business plan. QuickBooks list prices: Essentials $85, Plus $140 per month; ProAdvisor discounts change the math, which our upgrade calculator lets you set.
How to choose
- Your clients are on Simple Start or Essentials and you don't want to upgrade them: pick a tool that works on every plan (Nexora Recon does).
- Statements are the bottleneck (chasing clients, not knowing what's missing): pick a tool that tracks statements per account and month and can ask the client for them.
- You need day-to-day categorizing: a bank-feed tool such as Booke AI; many firms use one next to a statement check.
- You want the whole close run on one platform: Double or similar practice software.
- Nobody at the firm should touch it: a done-for-you service such as Botkeeper or Zeni.
Nexora Recon was built with Marketium, a US bookkeeping firm: across 42 client companies it checked 11,164 statement lines and found 1,913 that weren't in QuickBooks (case study). Nothing is written to QuickBooks until someone at the firm approves it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI agent for reconciling QuickBooks Online across many clients?
For checking every client's statements against QuickBooks Online and listing the statements still missing, Nexora Recon is built for that job: it works on every QuickBooks Online plan and costs $19 per client company per month. For day-to-day bank-feed categorizing, firms often look at Booke AI; for a full close platform, Double.
Does QuickBooks Online have AI reconciliation?
Yes. Intuit's AI-powered reconciliation reads a statement and compares it with the books, but Intuit says it is available in QuickBooks Online Plus, Advanced and Intuit Enterprise Suite only.
Is there AI reconciliation for QuickBooks Online Simple Start and Essentials?
QuickBooks' own AI reconcile isn't included on those plans. Nexora Recon checks statements against the books on every QuickBooks Online plan, including Simple Start and Essentials.
How much does AI reconciliation software cost per client?
Published prices on October 26, 2026: Nexora Recon $19 per client company; Double $10–$50 per connected client; Dext $207.99 per month for 10 clients; Booke AI $129 per business (firm plan on request); Botkeeper $59–$149 per license; Zeni from $549 per business.